The Tigris Expedition

This is one of the many books by the Norwegian explorer Thor Heyerdahl. This book is an account of his endeavour to build and sail a reed boat in order to demonstrate that trade and migration could have linked Mesopotamia with the Indus Valley civilisation. This ship, the Tigris, was built in Iraq and sailed down into the Persian Gulf, and finally into the Red Sea, where it was purposefully burnt in protest of the wars raging on either side of the Red Sea. ISBN 978-0006545316.

3 Comments on “The Tigris Expedition”

  1. Ralph says:

    Hello PETRESCU

    I’m pretty sure I watched the same documentary in the early 80s but it was on the Western German TV channel. Yes, you are absolutely right, the background music was ‘Shine on you crazy diamond’.

    Hopethis is helpful…

    Cheers, Ralph

  2. Hi Petrescu,

    I’m afraid I haven’t seen the documentary. I have only read the book so I don’t know about the music.

    I’ve looked online for you but I haven’t been able to find out which songs were used. I have been able to track down the video though, so perhaps if you liked the documentary you could buy it and find out? Or perhaps you could contact the National Geographic.

    http://www.amazon.co.uk/The-Tigris-Expedition-VHS/dp/B0006682HG

    Sorry it’s a vhs, but I don’t think it has been transferred to DVD! I hope you’ve kept your video player!

    I hope this helps.

    Rosamund

  3. PETRESCU MARCIAN says:

    I saw the documentary about this expedition, I think in the early ’80s, on National Romanian Television. It was during the comunism ! I was very impressed, despite the fact I was only 7 or 8 years old… I WANT TO KNOW JUST ONE THING ! For this documentary the producers used music from Pink Floyd’s album WISH YOU WERE HERE ? in particular a part of the song SHINE ON YOU CRAZY DIAMOND(the instrumental part) ? please answer me if possible. thanks


Leave a Reply

